2017 Team Postal State Champions

As we’ve done for the past five years, we present to you the postal state champions at the end of the season based on which team has the best 5 times for the 3200 throughout the indoor and outdoor seasons.  As with the old postal nationals from the 1950s and 60s, our goal is to see which teams carry the best depth at the longest distance event in high school, the 3200/2Mile.  We divide the champions into two divisions like the indoor state meet, 3A and below being one division and 4A/5A being the big division.

Small School Girls- Episcopal High School

EHS is no stranger to the awards stand.  While top heavy, they still got the job done.  Their runners include Alicia Stamey (11:24.81), Hayley Schwab (11:37.41), Adele Broussard (11:58.78), Jennie Stauss (13:41.72) and Jill Ahmad (15:21.06).

Small School Boys- Episcopal High School

The Knights sweep the division and the train keeps rolling.  Their top 5 consisted of Graham Frazier (9:26.92c), Kenny Schafer (9:50.18), Kris Jackson (9:54.79), David Whitehurst (10:16.91) and Austin Broussard (10:20.78).  This was one of the best showings for a LA team on record.

Large School Girls- St. Joseph’s High School

The Redstickers won a close competition over Lafayette High which was separated by just a few seconds average per runner.  The SJA team is Lauren Hendry (11:21.88), Gabriella Chauvin (11:56.25), Jennifer Bennett (11:56.55), Virginia Dirks (12:25.07), and Lark Smith (13:00.62).

Large School Boys- Brother Martin High School

The Crusaders showed off why they are considered the favorites for next years’ xc championship.  Their lineup included Hunter Appleton (9:18.64), Hayden Courrege (9:43.57), Reid Kern (10:17.91), Cade Litolff (10:20.04), and Ethan Meydrich (10:26.85).  With only one of those runners being a senior, we can expect them to repeat next year.